The annual First Five Years of Practice Award is designed to recognize an exceptional family physician in the early stage of his or her career. The call for nominations goes out in February.

Congratulations to the 2020 recipient, Dr. Alyssa Cantarutti.

The deadline for 2021 nominations is March 31, 2021.


This award will be awarded annually to a family physician in the first five years of practice who is a BCCFP member.

The successful nominee is someone who:

  • Actively demonstrates the value of physician wellness
  • Practises in comprehensive longitudinal family practice or works in an area that supports and values comprehensive longitudinal family practice.

The successful nominee may also demonstrate active involvement in or commitment to any of the following:

  • Leadership – such as committee membership at a local, provincial or national level
  • Community involvement, including volunteerism, activism, advocacy
  • Research or quality improvement
  • Teaching – this may be formal or informal and can include teaching patients, learners or colleagues
  • Policy development.

First Five Years of Practice Nomination Form

  • if applicable
  • if applicable
  • Please tell us why you are nominating this family physician for the First Five Years of Practice Award:
  • Please upload your nomination letter and any supporting documents here.

    Valid upload file extensions: .doc, .docx, .pdf

    Maximum file upload size 64MB

    Drop files here or
    Accepted file types: doc, docx, pdf.
    If other, please specify e.g. a colleague, health authority
  • If you do not receive a confirmation email from BCCFP within two business days, please contact [email protected]