The BC Family Physician of the Year Award recognizes a family physician who provides exemplary care to patients and takes part in activities that contribute to excellence in family medicine. 

The BCCFP may also nominate the recipient of this award for the CFPC Reg L. Perkin BC Family Physician of the Year Award.  

  • The nomination period runs from early January to March 31
  • The award recipient will be announced in May

(Please note: This is a peer-nominated award. If you are a patient, you can honour your own BC family doctor with a nomination for our My Family Doctor Award.)


This annual peer-nominated award provides an opportunity for BC family physicians to nominate a colleague who demonstrates some or all of the following qualities and experience:

  • Shows outstanding leadership (formal or non-formal) in areas of advocacy, community service, and/or education
  • Supports excellence in family medicine through activities that go beyond direct patient care, and may include involvement in community medical services, professional organizations or other contributions to the community
  • Demonstrates an interest in ongoing research
  • Serves in a teaching capacity
  • Advocates strongly for patients
  • A BCCFP member

**Please include at least one letter of support from a colleague.


BC Family Physician of the Year Nomination Form

  • Hidden
    if applicable
  • Please tell us why you are nominating this family physician for this award (you may provide nomination information in the box below, or upload a nomination letter along with a letter of support):
  • Please include a nomination letter written by you and at least one letter of support from a colleague.
    Drop files here or
    Accepted file types: doc, docx, pdf, Max. file size: 64 MB.
      If other, please specify e.g. a colleague, health authority
    • If you do not receive a confirmation email from BCCFP within two business days, please contact