2017 Annual Award Recipients

Congratulations to our award recipients!

Each year, the BCCFP recognizes some of our province’s exceptional family physicians, residents and medical students. The annual award recipients for 2017 are listed below. The College Coins are awarded throughout the year, and you can read more about the recipients here.

The 2017 annual award recipients are:

My Family Doctor Award

Dr. Cecilia Siegling

Dr. Cecilia Siegling has been practising in Prince George since 2007, serving a diverse patient population of all ages. After immigrating to Canada from South Africa in 2002, she initially worked in Saskatchewan. Patient Ms. Laura Parmar nominated her for the My Family Doctor Award to recognize the care that Dr. Siegling provided during her husband Mike’s journey with cancer.

First Five Years of Practice Award

Dr. Simon Moore

Dr. Simon Moore, is a graduate of UBC’s medical school and Family Practice residency, and has completed additional training in Global Health. He has practiced family medicine across Canada, in BC, the Northwest Territories and Ontario, in both urban and rural settings. A UBC Clinical Assistant Professor, Dr. Moore is a course director in Family Practice for Year 1 & 2 medical students at the Faculty of Medicine, and co-founder of The Review Course in Family Medicine.

Innovations in Primary Care Award

Home ViVE (Home Visits to Vancouver’s Elders) Program

In 2008, Vancouver Coastal Health and some elder-friendly physicians recognized the need to provide home-based primary care to seniors who are truly house-bound due to physical, cognitive, social or a combination of factors. Since then, Home ViVE (Home Visits to Vancouver’s Elders) has evolved into a primary medical home for approximately 1,300 cumulative patients. The team includes nurse practitioners, registered nurses, physiotherapists, occupational therapists and rehabilitation assistants.

The CFPC Reg. L. Perkin Award for BC Family Physician of the Year

Dr. Joy Russell

Dr. Joy Russell has been a family physician in Vancouver for 33 years. Since 2014, her practice has been located at the UBC Health Clinic, where she is also a preceptor, teaching family practice residents, nurse practitioner students and undergraduate medical students. She is also active in the Vancouver Division of Family Practice, representing the Division on several committees and working groups. In 2015, Dr. Russell was honoured by family practice residents, receiving the St. Paul’s Residency Program Teaching Award.

Dr. Manoo and Jean Gurjar Resident Scholarship Award 

Dr. Jesse Thompson & Dr. Alicia Pawluk

Resident Leadership Award

Dr. Dipinder Keer  & Dr. Cassandra Felske-Durksen

Medical Student Scholarships

Dr. Krista Burton and Dr. Vincent Wong